## **ABSA GROUP LIMITED**

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa (Registration number: 1986/003934/06) JSE share code: ABG ISIN: ZAE000255915 Bond issuer code: ABGI ("Absa Group" or "Group" or "Absa")

## **ABSA BANK LIMITED**

(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) (Registration number: 1986/004794/06) JSE share code: ABSP ISIN: ZAE000079810 Bond issuer code: BIABS ("Absa Bank")

## REGULATORY APPROVAL OF APPOINTMENT OF INTERIM CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, AND CHANGES TO ABSA GROUP BOARD COMMITTEES

Following the announcement dated 19 August 2024, shareholders are hereby informed that Absa Group and Absa Bank have received regulatory approval for the appointment of Charles Russon as Interim Group Chief Executive Officer, as well as for Yasmin Masithela as Interim Chief Executive: Corporate and Investment Bank.

Both appointments will be effective 15 October 2024.

In accordance with paragraphs 3.59 and 6.39 of the JSE Limited Equity and Debt Listings Requirements, respectively, shareholders are further informed that, commencing from 15 October 2024 and in addition to joining the Absa Group and Bank Boards, Charles will replace Arrie Rautenbach as a member of the Group Risk and Capital Management Committee, Social Sustainability and Ethics Committee, Group Credit Risk Committee and the Information Technology Committee.

Johannesburg 8 October 2024

Enquiries: Alan Hartdegen E-mail: <u>alan.hartdegen@absa.africa</u>

Lead Independent Sponsor: J.P. Morgan Equities South Africa Proprietary Limited

Joint Sponsor: Absa Bank Limited (Corporate & Investment Bank)